top of page

My All Time Number 1 Favorite!

Easily my all time favorite book is the ENTIRE Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead. All seven books I reread all the time. All together I have probably read the series at least fifteen times. It has such a special place in my heart, so much so I own two copies of every book and I tattooed myself with one of the main symbols within the universe (shown below).

My Vampire Academy Tattoo

Vampire academy is a young adult series that sound cheesy and the original cover art screams tacky early 2000s and I could definitely see how someone could steer clear of it especially if they saw the movie (but that is a whole other post... yikes). With all that being said it is an incredible story about friendship and takes a spin on vampires that Twilight and the Vampire Diaries never could.

Mead starts the series with two high school aged girls (our main characters) Rose and Lissa. They have a strange bond where Rose can see through Lissa"s eyes and feel her emotions. throughout the series you see how their friendship grows and wavers through trials.

The girls go to a secret school for two of the three types of vampires. Dhampirs: part human, part Moroi. Moroi: Full blooded vampires. There is also the third type, the Strigoi which act as the stereotypical "I want to suck your blood" vampires and these beings are the main antagonist. the difference between the three are that Dhampirs do not drink blood while Moroi do but they do not kill and Strigoi are undead. Moroi also have magical abilities that help protect them. The school Rose and Lissa attend teach Dhampirs like Rose to fight and protect the Moroi like Lissa from the Strigoi.

This is such an expansive universe that Mead has created and I have just discussed the tip of the iceberg. There is a significant Russian and Romanian influence in the lore Mead used to create this series and it make the Vampire theme more unique. I fell in love with these characters and I felt for them and what they went through. Rose was the first character that I could see myself in and she really shaped my personality. I recommend this book to anyone and everyone although I do think older teenagers and up would enjoy it more.

Vampire Academy Series

Author: Richelle Mead

Pages: paperback, 354*

Date: August 16, 2007*

Publisher: Razorbill

Price: $39.33 USD**

ISBN: 978-1-59514-174-3*

*Accordding to the first book within the series

**for the boxset with all six books @ https://www.walmart.com/ip/Vampire-Academy-Box-Set-1-6/26345462?wmlspartner=wlpa&selectedSellerId=8351&adid=22222222227022323528&wl0=&wl1=g&wl2=c&wl3=53085490608&wl4=pla-75174534408&wl5=1017108&wl6=&wl7=&wl8=&wl9=pla&wl10=117089113&wl11=online&wl12=26345462&wl13=&veh=sem


bottom of page